Holy Smokes! : Videography & Fire

(ONE WOMAN BANDIT) – I have covered some major fires while reporting and being an MMJ in Kentucky.  I once learned some skills from our chief photographer on shooting video of fires. I’m glad I learned some techniques to make those flames appear even better.

As in all video journalism, the goal is to bring the viewer closer to the scene. You want the viewer to feel the impact of what your are seeing first-hand.

  • Always white-balance. You may have to do this constantly.
  • Manually focus on the flames. We tend to focus on the structure that is burning, but focusing on the fire instead makes all the difference. You will capture the different colors of the flames better.

Here are some examples of fire stories in which I personally shot the video using the techniques that I was taught.

Note: In this first example, I covered a pallet business fire. You’ll see the different colors reflected in the flames as I mentioned above.

Leave a Reply

