Pen Tablet and Tool

FullSizeRender(ONE WOMAN BANDIT) – Just wanted to share another device that I use often which is the “Pen Tablet”. You can use it in Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign for  a variety of reasons. I chose to do an example of a simple drawing. WARNING: I’m not the best illustrator!
1

1. Starting off by highlighting the brush tool which is what you will need to use to make a drawing. You can also use the pen tool.

Image

2. Draw freehand style whatever it is you wish to draw. I drew a flower! You can also trace an image by placing it on the pen tool and /or importing it into photoshop and outlining the edges of the image. Here is an example of an image drawn by my friend; which she then imported into Illustrator , outlined with the pen tablet and then colored it in.

allen.digital
photo/drawing by Courtney Hunter
See her website here:

Courtney Hunter’s Website

2013-07-21 18.05.022013-07-21 18.00.11

2013-07-21 17.58.553. Once I have drawn my image. I set the foreground color to the colors that I am wanting to use to color in my drawn image.

ptool4. You do further edits to the image by using your “Blending Options”. Right click on the layer of the image and go to Blending Options>Layer Style. You will find all sorts of options to perfect your photo and make it look the way you wish. There are some great effects you can create to your photo by using these options.

Other Uses for the Pen Tablet

The pen tablet is not just for illustration. It can also be used in your day to day business. I recently made a signature .png using the pen tablet. You simply draw or sign your name in photoshop as you would an official document and save it as a .png file (for transparency); which you can add to any computerized letter and/or document. This is also the same technology that is used in classrooms to digitally take notes. Pen tablets could cost between $60 to $300 depending on the brand  and the quality that you seek. Buy a Pen Tablet Here!

Got Questions or want to add to this post? Is there something that you would like for me to cover? Tweet me with #OneWomanBandit  @Fadia_Dame_Tele ! :-)

Leave a Reply

